The Medicines Partnership of Australia (MPA) is an alliance of peak industry associations representing key members in the supply chain that deliver medicines and pharmacy expertise to Australian consumers. Its members include Medicines Australia, the Australian Self Medication Industry, the National Pharmaceutical Services Association, the Pharmacy Guild of Australia, the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia and the Generic and Biosimilar Medicines Association.

Through this grouping of all sectors of the pharmaceutical industry and community pharmacy, the MPA represents every part of the network responsible for providing medicines and information about appropriate medication to consumers. It covers manufacturers of prescription medicines, manufacturers and distributors of over-the-counter (OTC) and generic medicines, community pharmacy and national medicines distributors.

The MPA members collectively represent more than 200,000 manufacturing and distribution industry employees and healthcare professionals, more than $18 billion of annual turnover, in excess of $3 billion per annum in exports, and over $600 million in R&D.

Originally established in 1997, the MPA has proved in the past to be a prominent and useful point of contact for Government to address issues of concern in the industry, and continues to promote itself in this role. The representatives of the MPA member organisations are listed below.

Representatives of MPA Member Organisations

Medicines Australia (MA)
Representing the manufacturers of prescription medicines.

Chair: Dr Anna Lavelle
Elizabeth de Somer

Consumer Healthcare Products Australia (CHPA)
Representing those companies which manufacture and distribute consumer healthcare products, which includes non-prescription medicines.

Chair: Lindsay Forrest
Chief Executive Officer: Deon Schoombie

Generic and Biosimilar Medicines Association (GBMA)
Representing the manufacturers of generic medicines.

Chair: Sylvain Vigneault
Chief Executive Officer: Marnie Peterson

National Pharmaceutical Services Association (NPSA)
Represents full-line pharmaceutical wholesalers who source, warehouse and distribute more than 260 million PBS medicines to community pharmacies and hospitals across Australia each year.

Chairman: Mark Hooper

The Pharmacy Guild of Australia (PGOA)
Representing the proprietors of independent community pharmacies.

National President: George Tambassis
Executive Director: Suzanne Greenwood

Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA)
The national professional association of pharmacists.

National President: Dr Christopher Freeman
Interim Chief Executive Officer: Dr Shane Jackson